Utah Wage and Hour Attorneys
For 15 years, Galen Shimoda and his team have provided robust and successful representation to clients. Our experienced legal team can represent employees whose employers have violated Utah labor laws. Shimoda & Rodriguez Law, PC, can represent you when you need to hold an employer accountable.
What Is Wage Theft?
As the name suggests, wage theft occurs when employers do not pay workers according to the law.
Wage theft examples include:
- Paying an employee less than the federal and Utah minimum wage ($7.25 per hour)
- Failing to pay for work, including any time workers were required to be onsite for meetings or training
- Failing to pay overtime of at least 1.5 times the normal hourly rate if the enterprise is engaged in interstate commerce (Utah does not have a state law governing overtime pay)
- Failing to keep a set pay schedule or paying hourly workers less than two times per month or salaried workers less than once per month
- Withholding or diverting wages with an employee’s permission or a court order
- Failing to provide paystubs with complete information about an employee’s earnings and deductions for a pay period
- Pressuring employees to return or repay wages
If you suspect your employer is violating or has violated Utah wage and hour laws, contact Shimoda & Rodriguez Law, PC to pursue legal action.
What Is The Federal Minimum Wage Compared To Utah Minimum Wage?
Minimum wage laws in Utah stipulate that the state wage be $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal minimum wage.
Utah labor law requires employers to provide a meal period of at least 30 minutes to employees under the age of 18 scheduled to work more than 5 hours. Also, employers must provide a rest break of 10 minutes to employees under 18 for every 3 hours worked.
Unfortunately, Utah labor laws do not offer the same protections to workers over 18.
Utah allows employers to take a tip credit and pay tipped employees a minimum of $2.13 per hour. But, if an employee doesn’t earn enough in tips to bring their total compensation up to at least the full state minimum wage, the employer must make up the difference.
The Fair Labor Standards Act supersedes Utah labor law with regulations for nonexempt employees working for the federal, state, and local government, entitling these workers to overtime pay – not provided for by the state of Utah. Federal law also sets the federal wage at $7.25 per hour.
How Do I Prove Wage and Hour Violations?
If you believe your employer violated Utah state law or federal law, the following items will help prove your wage claim:
- Work schedules or timecards
- A copy of your employment contract (if you have one)
- Copies of other written agreements between you and your employer
- A copy of the company’s written policies
- It is illegal for your employer to fire you in retaliation for making or participating in a wage claim.
Do you need help navigating Utah employment laws, resources, regulations, and processes? Our firm will guide you step-by-step to ensure you receive your legally entitled compensation.
How We Approach Utah Labor Law Cases
- Initial Consultation: Our experienced wage and hour attorneys will speak with you and gather the specifics about your case.
- Review & Plan: Once we have the specifics of your case, our team can begin building a legal strategy to achieve your best outcome.
- Representation & Resolution: While our goal is often to settle wage and hour violations through mediation, there are times when the case goes to court. Should this happen, our attorneys will aggressively represent you and pursue an outcome in your best interest.
First off, I want to start off by saying I do not write reviews unless necessary! I want personally thank Shimoda & Rodriguez Law, PC for being so knowledgeable and their willingness to help me!!! They did not treat me like number. They treated me like a family member! They even remembered who I was without having to remind them. I can see the passion and leadership behind this firm! I want to personally thank the entire staff for treating me special! Thank you!
– Jeremy R.
Frequently Asked Questions About Utah Wage and Hour Laws
What Should I Do If My Employer Violates Utah Wage and Hour Laws?
If you are not the only employee suffering from wage theft, you and your coworkers can file a joint class-action lawsuit, where the frequency of wage and hour law violations spread across the company’s personnel will bolster the case.
What Should I Do If I Don't Still Have The Required Documents For A Wage Theft Case?
How Long Does A Wage Theft Case Take?
The Wage Claim Unit processes, investigates, mediates, adjudicates, and files judgments for more than 40,000 inquiries per year.
An employer must pay you unpaid wages within 24 hours after the employee has provided a written demand or within 24 hours from the time of separation.
Employers are required to pay the employee’s wages at the same rate from the date of the demand until paid, up to 60 days.
Schedule Your Initial Consultation With Our Utah-based Wage and Hour Attorneys
If you believe you’re a victim of wage theft, contact our office for a free evaluation of the strength of your case. We provide phone consultations. To speak with an attorney, call us at (833) 201-0213 or send our firm an email. We will promptly return all emails with a phone call.
Our office is located at 1414 E. Murray Holladay Road, Holladay, UT 84117.